chakra flow

In the ancient tantric scriptures, the word ‘chakra‘ signifies a conscious spinning-energy wheel. A tantra teacher will reveal that there are seven such spinning-energy nerve centers located along the spinal column, and that every chakra corresponds to a specific area of our body. Further, each chakra represents a specific set of behavioral characteristics associated with that specific area of our body, and the various phases of our spiritual growth through them.

When you practice authentic tantra under the guidance of an experienced tantra master, you will learn to correctly focus your energies with specific positions/postures. This will help you to align the chakras, and to induce them to spin in their proper direction and velocity. Learning how to energize, focus and control the chakras through tantra meditation will help establish physical equilibrium and peace of mind, body and spirit.

The chakras are essential components of tantra courses. It is essential to understand the seven chakras and how each  of them relates to a distinct part of our body along the spinal column, from the perineum to the crown of the head. All seven chakras pertain to a particular set of organs, distinct colors and sounds, specific emotions and/or behavior, and also control certain other personal aspects – including personal identity, goals and attitudes.

The seven chakras are:

Muladhara – located at the base of the spine

Svadhisthana – located around the abdomen, genital organs, lower back

Manipura- located at the solar plexus

Anahata – located in the heart area

Vishuddha – located in the throat region

Ajna or Agyna – located in the eyebrows region

Sahasrara – located at the top of head and the cerebral cortex

When your tantra teacher guides you through certain tantra positions and yoga postures, you will be able to focus your conscious awareness and prana shakti (energy) on the chakras.

This will allow you to correct specific areas of your body that are out of sync with or inactive in correlation to your body.

By balancing the prana shakti among all seven chakras, complete emotional, physical and mental balance is attained. This spiritual energy (or shakti) attained is better known as Kundalini shakti. In its sleeping state, it is pictured as a coiled-up serpent resting at the base of your spinal column, around the Muladhara chakra.

Because the chakras behave like valves influencing the flow of energy, the postures and techniques your tantra master teaches you are extremely beneficial in realigning the chakras to bring about complete harmony of mind and body.